Herman Miller Sayl vs Autonomous ErgoChair Pro: Which Should You Buy?

Compare Herman Miller's Sayl and Autonomous's ErgoChair Pro using manufacturer specs and buying checks.

By Leo· Updated Sep 27, 2026
Herman Miller Sayl

Herman Miller

Herman Miller Sayl

$935 – $1,580

VS

$436

lower starting price for Autonomous ErgoChair Pro than Herman Miller Sayl at the brand stores

Herman Miller SaylAutonomous ErgoChair Pro
Price
$935 – $1,580$499
Seat height
16–20.5 in standard; 15–19 in low; 16.5–22 in extended18.5–22 in (47–55.9 cm)
Seat depth
16.5 in fixed; 16–18 in adjustable19–21.5 in (48.3–54.6 cm)
Load capacity
350 lb (159 kg)300 lb (136.1 kg)
Recline
Harmonic Tilt; Tilt Limiter standard, Tilt Limiter with Seat Angle optionalSynchro-tilt; 22° recline range; 5 lock positions (Donati reclining mechanism)
Arms
Options: No Arms, Fixed Arms, Height Adjustable Arms, Fully Adjustable 4D Arms3D armrests; armrest height 11–14 in from seat
Lumbar support
PostureFit Sacral Support Standard; Lumbar Support OptionalSliding (height-adjustable) lumbar; 6 in lumbar height range
Warranty
12-year, 3-shiftLifetime warranty

What users mention

From 23 Herman Miller Sayl and 36 Autonomous ErgoChair Pro user reviews, most mentioned first. Green is liked, orange is a caution.

  • Price and value

    Herman Miller Sayl19 mentions
    Autonomous ErgoChair Pro45 mentions
  • Build quality

    Herman Miller Sayl14 mentions
    Autonomous ErgoChair Pro34 mentions
  • Comfort

    Herman Miller Sayl22 mentions
    Autonomous ErgoChair Pro25 mentions
  • Back support

    Herman Miller Sayl14 mentions
    Autonomous ErgoChair Pro29 mentions
  • Adjustability

    Herman Miller Sayl10 mentions
    Autonomous ErgoChair Pro26 mentions
  • Armrests

    Herman Miller Sayl4 mentions
    Autonomous ErgoChair Pro21 mentions

Questions

Which is cheaper, the Herman Miller Sayl or the Autonomous ErgoChair Pro?

The Autonomous ErgoChair Pro is cheaper to start: $499 versus $935 for the Herman Miller Sayl at the brand stores (Oct 2026).

Which has a higher weight capacity?

The Herman Miller Sayl, rated for 350 lb versus 300 lb for the Autonomous ErgoChair Pro.

What do owners mention most?

Comfort for the Herman Miller Sayl, and price and value for the Autonomous ErgoChair Pro, based on review summaries.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Search links may include other models or accessories; confirm the exact item, seller and condition before buying.

Autonomous ErgoChair Pro
Autonomous ErgoChair Pro

View chair →

Compare the exact model and configuration shown by the seller.

Read the ErgoChair Pro guide
Read the full comparison

Introduction

The Herman Miller Sayl and Autonomous ErgoChair Pro take different routes to an adjustable task chair. The US Herman Miller Store lists the Sayl at $935–$1,580 with a 12-year, 3-shift warranty and a Y-Tower suspension back; Autonomous sells the ErgoChair Pro direct at $499 with 3D armrests, a standard headrest and a lifetime warranty. This is a research-based comparison using manufacturer sources, not a hands-on test.

At a glance

Official specsHerman Miller SaylAutonomous ErgoChair Pro
Seat height
  • 16–20.5 in standard; 15–19 in low; 16.5–22 in extended(work chair, by cylinder)
Sayl Chairs product sheet (PDF, © 2019 Herman Miller) ↗
  • 18.5–22 in (47–55.9 cm)(store page)
Ergonomic Chair with 9 Degrees of Freedom | Autonomous ErgoChair Pro (official store page) ↗
Seat depth
  • 16.5 in fixed; 16–18 in adjustable(product sheet)
Sayl Chairs product sheet (PDF, © 2019 Herman Miller) ↗
  • 19–21.5 in (48.3–54.6 cm)(store page)
Ergonomic Chair with 9 Degrees of Freedom | Autonomous ErgoChair Pro (official store page) ↗
Seat width
  • 18 in (45.7 cm)(store)
Sayl Chair – Herman Miller Store (US) ↗
  • 19 in (48.3 cm)(store page)
Ergonomic Chair with 9 Degrees of Freedom | Autonomous ErgoChair Pro (official store page) ↗
Load capacity
  • 350 lb (159 kg)(work chair)
Sayl Chairs product sheet (PDF, © 2019 Herman Miller) ↗
  • 300 lb (136.1 kg)(store page)
Ergonomic Chair with 9 Degrees of Freedom | Autonomous ErgoChair Pro (official store page) ↗
Recline
  • Harmonic Tilt; Tilt Limiter standard, Tilt Limiter with Seat Angle optional(work chair)
Sayl Chairs product sheet (PDF, © 2019 Herman Miller) ↗
  • Synchro-tilt; 22° recline range; 5 lock positions (Donati reclining mechanism)(store page)
Ergonomic Chair with 9 Degrees of Freedom | Autonomous ErgoChair Pro (official store page) ↗
Arms
  • Options: No Arms, Fixed Arms, Height Adjustable Arms, Fully Adjustable 4D Arms(product sheet wording)
Sayl Chairs product sheet (PDF, © 2019 Herman Miller) ↗
  • 3D armrests; armrest height 11–14 in from seat(store page + site product blurb)
Ergonomic Chair with 9 Degrees of Freedom | Autonomous ErgoChair Pro (official store page) ↗
Lumbar support
  • PostureFit Sacral Support Standard; Lumbar Support Optional(work chair)
Sayl Chairs product sheet (PDF, © 2019 Herman Miller) ↗
  • Sliding (height-adjustable) lumbar; 6 in lumbar height range(store page)
Ergonomic Chair with 9 Degrees of Freedom | Autonomous ErgoChair Pro (official store page) ↗
Warranty
  • 12-year, 3-shift(product sheet)
Sayl Chairs product sheet (PDF, © 2019 Herman Miller) ↗
  • Lifetime warranty(store page)
Ergonomic Chair with 9 Degrees of Freedom | Autonomous ErgoChair Pro (official store page) ↗
Chair weight
  • 54 lb (24.5 kg)(store configuration)
Sayl Chair – Herman Miller Store (US) ↗
  • 48.5 lb (22 kg)(store page)
Ergonomic Chair with 9 Degrees of Freedom | Autonomous ErgoChair Pro (official store page) ↗
SizesNot stated
  • One size; seat material: High-density foam cushion or Cool mesh; colors Black, Cool Gray, Black & White(store page)
Ergonomic Chair with 9 Degrees of Freedom | Autonomous ErgoChair Pro (official store page) ↗
Back heightNot stated
  • 28–31 in (71.1–78.7 cm)(store page)
Ergonomic Chair with 9 Degrees of Freedom | Autonomous ErgoChair Pro (official store page) ↗
HeadrestNot stated
  • Adjustable headrest (standard)(store page)
Ergonomic Chair with 9 Degrees of Freedom | Autonomous ErgoChair Pro (official store page) ↗

Herman Miller Sayl — strengths and weaknesses

Documented features: Herman Miller lists a Harmonic Tilt with a standard tilt limiter, PostureFit sacral support as standard with lumbar support as an option, a 350 lb weight capacity, and arm options from no arms to Fully Adjustable 4D Arms. Seat depth is 16.5 in fixed or 16–18 in adjustable, and the standard seat height is 16–20.5 in.

Check before buying: Arm, lumbar and seat-depth options vary by configuration. Some owners report creaking from the mostly plastic construction. Check the current lead time on your quote.

Autonomous ErgoChair Pro — strengths and weaknesses

Documented features: Autonomous lists 3D armrests (11–14 in from the seat), a sliding lumbar with a 6 in height range, synchro-tilt with a 22° recline range and 5 lock positions, an adjustable headrest as standard, a seat depth of 19–21.5 in and a 300 lb weight capacity, at $499.

Check before buying: Some owners report mesh or seat problems and squeaky armrests within the first year, while others report solid durability; this comparison has not tested it. Autonomous advertises a lifetime warranty on its store page; confirm the terms if you buy from another seller. Choose between the foam and mesh seat options before ordering.

How they differ

Warranty terms differ: Herman Miller lists a 12-year, 3-shift warranty for Sayl, while Autonomous advertises a lifetime warranty for the ErgoChair Pro. Prices differ too: $935–$1,580 for Sayl at the US Herman Miller Store and $499 for the ErgoChair Pro at Autonomous.

On adjustability, the ErgoChair Pro lists 3D armrests, a sliding lumbar and a standard headrest; the Sayl's back is a Y-Tower suspension with PostureFit sacral support, and its lumbar support and fully adjustable arms are options.

Dimensions differ: Herman Miller lists an 18 in seat width, 16–18 in adjustable seat depth, 16–20.5 in standard seat height and 350 lb capacity for Sayl; Autonomous lists a 19 in seat width, 19–21.5 in seat depth, 18.5–22 in seat height and 300 lb capacity for the ErgoChair Pro. The ErgoChair Pro includes a headrest as standard.

Who should buy which

Consider the Herman Miller Sayl if: you want a Y-Tower suspension back, a 12-year, 3-shift warranty and a choice of arm and lumbar options, and you can wait for the quoted lead time.

Consider the Autonomous ErgoChair Pro if: you want 3D armrests, adjustable seat depth, a sliding lumbar and a standard headrest at $499, and you will buy directly from Autonomous or confirm the warranty with your seller.

Check the size limits: Herman Miller lists 350 lb for Sayl and Autonomous 300 lb for the ErgoChair Pro. Larger or taller users should compare seat depth and back height with the Herman Miller Aeron (size C), Steelcase Leap V2 or Steelcase Gesture.

Bottom line

Neither chair is a universal winner. The Sayl offers a Y-Tower suspension back, a 350 lb capacity and a 12-year, 3-shift warranty; the ErgoChair Pro offers more adjustments, a standard headrest and a lower price with a lifetime warranty from Autonomous.

Compare delivered quotes, return terms and warranty service for the exact configuration you would buy.

Affiliate links: we may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. Check current delivery, return and warranty terms on Amazon.

Choose and buy with confidence